Rowing Notes 22nd Sept 2011

Fermoy Rowing Club Notes

Annual General Meeting this Friday night

The Club's AGM will take place trhis Friday night at 8.30 in the Clubhouse. All members are requested to attend. The agenda for the meeting will be as follows:

The Chaiman's Report
The Secretary's Report
The Treasurer's Report
The Captain's Report

On the Rowing front

Crews are back now in full training for the new season, under the watchful eyes of the Captain and coaches. At present in training we have Junior 12, 14, 16 and 18 crews in both Men and Women, as well as Novice and Master's crews. If anyone is interested in competing they should call to the Clubhouse on Sunday mornings to meet with the Captain and coaches.

The Barrow Challenge

The Club recently took part in the Barrow Challenge, which is a twelve mile time trial rowed from St Mullan's in County Carlow to New Ross Town Centre. The Club recorded a victory in the Men's Junior 18 Quad with the crew of James O'Mahony, Darragh O'Callaghan, Eoin Donnellan, Sean Connolly and Cian Donnelly (cox) achieving a time of one hour, six minutes and fifty-two seconds. Our second victory came in the Men's Junior 18 Four with the crew of Stephen Geary, Simonas Drumsta, Paul Mannix, Eolann Sheehan and Philip O'Flynn (cox) achieving a time of one hour, four minutes and fifty-nine seconds. Our second Junior 18 Quad of Emmett Dorgan, Enda Gormley, Luke Myers, Ruari Myers and Adam Fisher (cox) finished with a time of one hour, seven minutes and fifty-two seconds.

Also rowing were the Fermoy Masters Eight. They finished second to Commercial of Dublin with a time of fifty-nine minutes, fifty-two seconds. Commercial won at fifty-eight, fifty-seven.

Over-all it was a very enjoyable day for Fermoy Rowing Club and the host club, New Ross. It is hoped that this event will be on the fixtures calendar for the coming years.

Our next outing will be the Cork Sculling Ladder which will commence in October and will run until April 2012.


Winners of the Barrow Challenge Men's Junior 18 Four: Stephen Geary, Simonas Drumsta, Paul Mannix, Eolann Sheehan and Philip O'Flynn (cox).